Release Me (The Music Within # 2)

By Faith Gibson

BR Release Me


Fifteen Years…
For fifteen years, Cade Anderson, drummer for the world-famous rock band 7’s Mistress, has been in love with his best friend, the band’s lead singer. Even though it’s been years since they were lovers, Cade still wants the man. When his best friend falls in love with someone else, life as Cade knows it is over. The band breaks up and Cade has to figure out how to move on. 

Ten Years…
For ten years, Mal Wilson has hidden who he really is from the small-minded people of Arlo, Kentucky. The family farm is dwindling down to nothing, and the bar he owns is draining him dry. When it looks like he’s going to lose both, Mal has to figure out where to go from here. 

Three Months…
For three months, Cade has been drinking and f*cking his way across the country, trying to forget about his former friend and lover. When he finds himself at a redneck joint in the middle of nowhere, he is drawn to the handsome roughneck tending bar. Something in the man stirs Cade for the first time in years. 

One Night…
When Mal ends up in a hotel room with the handsome blond man who sat in his bar for hours, the man asks for one night together. When Mal wakes up, he knows that one night will never be enough, but it has to be. 

Two men…
One musician, rich and famous, out and proud of his sexuality. One cowboy, poor as the dirt under his boots, hiding who he is from the world. It’ll never work. Or will it? 

Release Me is a love story between a hard rockin’ drummer and a hard workin’ cowboy.


Sometimes when I sign up to review a book, I look back and think to myself “Why did I sign up to this one again?”.  I’ll be honest, that was how I felt about RELEASE ME and I was worried that I wasn’t going to enjoy it.  I couldn’t have been more wrong because what I found here was an absolutely amazing story.  You have Cade, a famous rockstar who’s not ashamed of his sexuality and is wealthy enough to buy anything he wants.  Then you have Mal, who is his exact opposite; a lonely cowboy who’s hiding who he is after an attack left him hospitalised and who’s so broke he’s about to lose his family’s farm.

I absolutely loved RELEASE ME and Cade and Mal make an amazing couple.  There’s no fighting for dominance and no unnecessary drama between the pair.  They meet, they like, they fall in love, they have some problems, they sort them out, they get their HEA.  The supporting characters were also enjoyable to read; they weren’t in your face, but they weren’t so deep in the background that you forgot who they were when they popped back in again.

RELEASE ME is told in dual POVs and while it’s part of a series, it can be read as a stand-alone.  It’s the first book I’ve read from Faith Gibson and I would gladly read more from her.  The only issue I have with the story is the number of times Cade makes comparisons to his previous lover, Tag.  I get that he had to realise that what he felt for Tag paled in comparison to what he was feeling for Mal, but it was just one of those things that was repeated one too many times.  Other than that, the romance was sweet, the sex was hot, the conflict was heartbreaking, and the ending was beautiful and tied things up nicely.  The story as a whole was very well written, flowed nicely and was enjoyable from beginning to end.

Release Me (The Music Within # 2)

My Rating:  5 Hearts

Buy Links:  Amazon | iBooks

Visit Faith Gibson:  Click Here

The Music Within Series